• Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Circle us on Google+
  • Twitter
  • RSS
Home > News & Media > Press Center > Archives > 2014 > Robert Dickey elected Chairman of the Newspaper Association of America

Robert Dickey elected Chairman of the Newspaper Association of America

NAA elects new officers and board members for 2014-15 during NAA mediaXchange 2014 in Denver

Sean O’Leary
Director of Communications
(571) 366-1009

March 18, 2014

Arlington, Va. – Robert J. Dickey, president of Gannett Company Inc.’s U.S. Community Publishing, has been elected as the Newspaper Association of America’s next chairman. The gavel was passed to Dickey by last year’s chairman, Robert M. Nutting, during NAA mediaXchange 2014 in Denver on Tuesday, March 18. Nutting, president and CEO of Wheeling, W.Va.-based Ogden Newspapers Inc., will continue to serve on the NAA Board of Directors as immediate past chairman.

Dickey was named president of the Gannett U.S. Community Publishing Division, formerly Newspaper Division, in 2008. He began his career with Gannett 21 years ago as retail advertising manager in Reno, Nev. His many accomplishments with Gannett include 2005 Manager of the Year, two consecutive Publisher of the Year awards in 1998 and 1999, and Publisher’s President’s Ring awards 1997 through 2002 and 2004.

Other NAA officers elected were: Donna Barrett, president and CEO, Community Newspaper Holdings Inc., vice chairperson; Stephen Hills, president and general manager of the Washington Post, secretary; and Tony Hunter, president and CEO of Chicago Tribune Media Group, treasurer.

The following were elected to additional two-year terms on the NAA Board of Directors: Mark Aldam, Hearst Newspapers; Christian Hendricks, The McClatchy Co.; Michael Romaner, Morris Communications; and Timothy Stautberg, The E.W. Scripps Co.

Elected to initial two-year terms on the NAA Board of Directors were: Barbara Bennett, EVP and CFO of Digital First Media; Elizabeth Brenner, publisher and president of the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel; Michael Gugliotto, President and CEO of the Pioneer News Group; and Todd Schurz, President and CEO of Schurz Communications.

Prior to joining Digital First Media, Bennett was serving as a presidential appointee as CFO for the Environmental Protection Agency since 2009. In that role, she was responsible for oversight of the EPA’s budget, financial reporting and strategic planning. Her previous posts include senior executive VP and CFO of Discovery Communications.

Brenner has more than three decades’ of experience in the newspaper industry and was named publisher of The Milwaukee Journal Sentinel in January 2005. She oversees Wisconsin’s largest newspaper, its websites, and a wide range of related businesses. She was named chief operating officer of Journal Communications’ Publishing businesses in early 2006.

Gugliotto was named president and CEO of the Pioneer News Group in 2008. He previously served as chief operating officer for the Seattle-based company. He came to Pioneer in 2002 after serving as general manager and vice president of the Longmont, Colo., Daily Times-Call.

Schurz was named as president and CEO of Schurz Communications in 2007. Prior to joining Schurz Communications in 1989, he worked for the Times Journal Company in Springfield, Virginia, and for the New York Daily News. While with SCI, he has worked in management at the Tribune and WSBT television and radio in South Bend, and at WDBJ television in Roanoke, Virginia.

About NAA

NAA is a nonprofit organization representing nearly 2,000 newspapers and their multiplatform businesses in the United States and Canada. NAA members include daily newspapers, as well as nondailies, other print publications and online products. Headquartered near Washington, D.C., in Arlington, Va., the association focuses on the major issues that affect today's newspaper industry: public policy/legal matters, advertising revenue growth and audience development across the medium's broad portfolio of products and digital platforms. Information about NAA and the industry also may be found at www.naa.org.